Tuesday, August 25, 2015

Changes to this year's contest...

Hello Entrants and Judges!

There will be some fairly big changes to the contest this year. Remember, we're a new contest and the process of fine tuning does take a few years!

One of the two major changes is the reduction of categories. Between getting enough entries and having enough judges we've pared down the number of categories from nine to five (possibly six, we're still discussing). The five definite categories are:

1) Erotic
2) Historical
3) Contemporary
4) Romantic Suspense/Series Action Adventure
5) Specialized: Alternate Earth Histories, Dystopian, Futuristic, Fantasy, Time Travel, Paranormal, Urban Fantasy

The possible sixth category is GLBTQ...

The second major change is the switch to a single round where judges are required to read the whole book.

The few smaller tweaks include:

a) score sheets will not automatically be sent back to the entrants; if entrants want them back, they must check the appropriate check box
b) the comments on the score sheets are being eliminated
c) the questions on the score sheets are being tweaked

If you have any questions, please let us know at carolynaward@ntrwa.org


Clover Autrey & Jen FitzGerald
The Carolyn Readers Choice Award Contest Co-Coordinators

No comments :

Post a Comment